West Virginia Commercial Collection Agency
West Virginia, like every other state in the U.S., has statute of limitations and various other laws that help determine a deadline when it comes to filing a lawsuit or other civil actions. This page will provide information related to West Virginia including: state economy, unemployment rate, state debt and statute of limitations. All information included is provided by recent case studies or other industry experts.
Statute of limitation laws are mandatory time limits that the legal system put into place to provide a general fairness and practicality when it comes to filing a lawsuit. West Virginia’s statute of limitations can range from one to 10 years depending on the nature of the lawsuit. (FindLaw.com)
In September 2013, West Virginia’s unemployment rate was 6.4 percent. One years later, it rose to 6.6 percent. During this time period, the median annual household income for West Virginia residents was $43,361. (Ballotpedia.org)
In 2014, West Virginia had a state debt of 25 billion. The state debt per capita was $13, 459. This state debt was determined after reviewing four components: market-valued unfunded public pension liabilities, outstanding government debt, unfunded other post-employment benefit liabilities and outstanding unemployment trust fund loans. (Ballotpedia.org)
In September 2015, West Virginia was ranked as the 17th worst state in the country in “taxpayer burden,” a term used when describing how much money each taxpayer would need to send to their state’s treasury office in order for the state to become debt-free. The taxpayer burden in West Virginia in 2015 was $13,000.
Prestige Services, Inc. (PSI) works to ensure quality debt collection that works within West Virginia’s collection laws whether that means staying up to date on collection licenses, industry news, and economy data within the state.
SUMMARY OF WEST VIRGINIA COLLECTION LAWS*
Legal: 6% (Contract rate prevails. Contract rate can vary between 18% and 31% max) – Judgment 10%
STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (IN YEARS)
Open Acct: 5 – Written Contract 10 – Domestic Judgment 10 – Foreign Judgment 10
BAD CHECK LAWS (CIVIL PENALTY)
Amount due, service charge up to $10. If check is under $500.00 = misdemeanor. Over $500.00 = felony.
GENERAL GARNISHMENT EXEMPTIONS
See West VA code 38-5A-3-Employees with hold 20% of disposable income or 30x the minimum hourly rate, whichever is less. Other exemptions apply.
* These are not comprehensive statutes and therefore PSICollect.com and Prestige Services, Inc. disclaims any liability resulting from reliance by any party upon the legality and accuracy of the contents thereof.
Below is a list of the states in the US that we cover.
We are a nationwide operation and service all states, as well as Canada & Mexico.