Montana Commercial Collection Agency
Montana, like every other state, has statute of limitations and various other laws that help determine a deadline when it comes to filing a lawsuit or other civil actions. This page will provide information related to Montana including: state economy, unemployment rate, state debt and statute of limitations. All information included is provided by recent case studies or other industry experts.
Statute of limitation laws are mandatory time limits that the legal system put into place to provide a general fairness and practicality when it comes to filing a lawsuit. Montana’s statute of limitations can range from two to 10 years depending on the nature of the lawsuit. (FindLaw.com)
Between 2011 and 2013, Montana’s median annual household income was $43,924, the lowest among surrounding states. The state of Montana had the smallest percentage of residents earning incomes at least 400 percent above the federal poverty level. In September 2013, Montana’s unemployment rate was 5.6 percent. One year later, it dropped to 4.6 percent.
In January 2014, it was reported that Montana had a state debt of $15.8 billion. The state debt per capita was $15,689. This state debt was determined after reviewing four components: market-valued unfunded public pension liabilities, outstanding government debt, unfunded other post-employment benefit liabilities and outstanding unemployment trust fund loans. (Ballotpedia.org)
In 2015, Montana was ranked the 10th best in the country in “taxpayer surplus,” a term used when a state has sufficient resources to pay their bills and how much each taxpayer would receive if the state disbursed its excess funds. In September 2015, Montana had a taxpayer surplus of $900. (Ballotpedia.org)
Prestige Services, Inc. (PSI) works to ensure quality debt collection that works within Montana’s collection laws whether that means staying up to date on collection licenses, industry news, and economy data within the state.
Check Laws by Cities in Montana
SUMMARY OF MONTANA COLLECTION LAWS*
Legal: 10% – Judgment 10%
STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (IN YEARS)
Contract not in Writing 5 – Written Contract 8 – Domestic Judgment 10 (District Court) – Justice of Peace Judge 10 – Tort Claim (Subrogation) Prop & Personal 3
BAD CHECK LAWS (CIVIL PENALTY)
$100 minimum or 3 times face value up to $500 plus face value of check and under UCC the value of the check plus $30 service charge per check,
GENERAL GARNISHMENT EXEMPTIONS
See Federal law. State law provides for executions
* These are not comprehensive statutes and therefore PSICollect.com and Prestige Services, Inc. disclaims any liability resulting from reliance by any party upon the legality and accuracy of the contents thereof.
Below is a list of the states in the US that we cover.
We are a nationwide operation and service all states, as well as Canada & Mexico.