Kansas Commercial Collection Agency
Like most other U.S. states, Kansas has a variety of statute of limitations and various other laws to help determine debt collection lawsuit deadlines and other civil actions. This page will provide helpful information for those interested in learning the state’s economic and collection laws including: Kansas spending/debt/credit rating, legal interest rates, statute of limitations, bad check laws, collection agency bond and licensing information, and more.
The legal interest rate in Kansas is 10%, which includes a judgment of 4% points above the discount rate. Bad check laws (civil penalty) are three times check amount, not exceeding the check amount of $500 or $100 plus attorney fees. Regarding collection agency bond and licenses, there are no bond, licenses, or fees.
Kansas’ spending and debt history has changed very slightly in the past few years. In 2015, state spending increased to $15 billion from $14.4 billion in 2014. State funds include $11.1 billion and federal funds account for $3.9 billion, which equates to per capita spending of $5,166. Regarding state debt, in 2012 it was $39 billion and a per capita debt of $13,523. The low debt amount in the past few years has contributed to a credit rating of AA+ from 2004–2014. (BallotPedia.org)
Kansas has a variety of debt collection laws including the Kansas Consumer Protection Act, which applies to suppliers (e.g. creditors and collectors). The act prohibits harassment and other debt collection conduct that is considered “unconscionable” collection practice. If “suppliers” violate the Kansas Consumer Protection Act, debtors can obtain injunctive relief and could possibly recover statutory damages of at most $10,000, not including attorney fees. (ProtectingConsumerRights.com)
Check Laws by Cities in Kansas
SUMMARY OF KANSAS COLLECTION LAWS*
Legal: 10% – Judgment 4 percentage points above the discount rate
STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS (IN YEARS)
Open Acct: 3 – Written Contract 5 – Domestic Judgment 5 renewable – Foreign Judgment 5 renewable
BAD CHECK LAWS (CIVIL PENALTY)
Three times check amount not exceeding the check amount, $500 or $100 whichever is greater plus attorney fees
GENERAL GARNISHMENT EXEMPTIONS
See federal law. Plus other personal property, benefit exemptions, and homestead
COLLECTION AGENCY BOND & LICENSE
Bond: No – License: No – Fee: No
* These are not comprehensive statutes and therefore PSICollect.com and Prestige Services, Inc. disclaims any liability resulting from reliance by any party upon the legality and accuracy of the contents thereof.
Below is a list of the states in the US that we cover.
We are a nationwide operation and service all states, as well as Canada & Mexico.